Icelandic Yule Lads

Posted: December 28, 2013 in Uncategorized

The Road Crew

I have been reading about the Icelandic holiday mythology of the Yule Lads, and it’s very interesting. What I have done here is to take what I have found and update / translate their story and poem. I have relied on previous works, but this is my interpretation. I have used the translated names of some, and kept with the Icelandic names of others. I have also tried to stay true to the style and feel of the true Icelandic version. Happy Holidays !!

I can be contacted at Kbarr2@cfl.rr.com

Here is a link to the Icelandic site so that you can read about the Yule lads for yourself:

http://www.thjodminjasafn.is/english/for-visitors/christmas/the-yule-lads/

And now, here is my version of “The Yule Lads”

The Yule Lads

Living in caves out of town,
They wait all year for their chance,
For mischief in December,
To dance their holiday dance.

The thirteen sons of Grýla,

View original post 697 more words

Leave a Reply

