New Work, “Gypsy Woman”

Posted: March 22, 2013 in Poetry and Prose
Tags: , , ,

Gypsy Woman

Gypsy woman, deal me again,

These Tarot cards are not my friend,

Each day begins, then it’s over,

One by one, all wasted sober.

 

I breathe you in, you breathe me too,

We are as one, I become you,

Cocaine whispers, heroin eyes,

Truth becomes love, one of life’s lies.

 

Never knowing what ours could be,

The red light obscures your beauty,

Hold the spoon over the candle,

Life is just too hard to handle.

 

The Ouija board tells our story,

Maps out our life, all our glory,

Take my hand, hold on forever,

We will always be together.

 

Ken Barr

Gypsy Woman

 

Leave a Reply

