New Work, “A Knight Before Battle”

Posted: January 2, 2013 in Poetry and Prose
Tags: , , , , , , , , , ,

I have always been intrigued my Knights of Medieval Times, I wrote this some time ago, and just tweaked it, hope you like it. Ken

A Knight Before Battle

Heading for the battlefield knowing,

That the odds against a victory,

Are so great that they are staggering,

I won’t ever leave this battlefield,

Here is where my last battle is fought.

 

As I head toward the enemy,

All that I can think about is you,

And the life we have had together,

I have no fear now only sadness,

Because today we part forever.

 

This I do for my king and country,

As I have done before, what I must,

As I do my duty for honor,

I can see that there is no honor,

Leaving you for a fools errand.

 

But turning back is not an option,

The dogs of war have just been unleashed,

And I charge headlong into the fray,

Steel upon steel, and steel upon flesh,

Countless numbers of the enemy.

 

The battle wears on, the enemy,

Overwhelm us with their sheer numbers,

Still fighting on, and then I feel it,

I can feel the sword piercing my chest,

But I feel no pain except for you.

 

I know my dying will break your heart,

And as I lay here, life leaving me,

All feelings are replaced with sadness,

Sadness that I won’t see you again,

Your beautiful face is my last thought.

 

Ken Barr

guardian-of-the-grail

Leave a Reply

