Giving Thanks

Posted: November 18, 2012 in Poetry and Prose
Tags: , , , ,

With the upcoming holiday I have been giving a lot of thought to all the things I am thankful for.

Giving Thanks

Taking a moment to give thanks,
For all the good things in my life,
For the family that are there,
Whenever I need some support,
And for the friends in my life too.

But also I want to include,
Things that we all take for granted,
I’m thankful that the sun comes up,
And is there each day without fail,
But I’m thankful for the rain too.

I’m thankful for each day I have,
And the chance to make it special,
Each day an opportunity,
To do something exceptional,
I’m thankful just for being here.

So many small things in my life,
That make it uniquely my own,
And I’m thankful for all of them,
Even the hard times that I’ve had,
They’ve made me the person I am.

If you are a part of my life,
Or are meeting me by reading this,
I am thankful for you too.

Ken Barr

Leave a Reply

