New Prose, “Gypsy Caravan”

Posted: November 12, 2012 in Poetry and Prose
Tags: , , , , , ,

Recently I have been looking back as often as I look forward. And the mistakes I made seem so clear, I don’t know why I made them. It’s never easy, seeing where you went wrong. And also not seeing when you had it all. I was thinking about someone that was in my life a long time ago, and a great life we had together. But I was afraid that staying there and being happy would somehow derail the career I had worked so hard to get. Imagine that, being afraid of being happy. If only I could go back in time. It’s ok to trade one dream for another, as long as you’re happy. Anyway, I just wrote “Gypsy Caravan”, about that time in my life.

Gypsy Caravan

Thinking about the house we had,
Up on the cliffs of San Pedro,
A small cottage by the ocean,
You had decorated like a,
Colorful gypsy caravan,
Scarves and cloth draped everywhere,
I really loved that place so much,
And our time together in it.

One of the few regrets I have,
As I look back on the life I’ve led,
Is walking away from that life,
The reasons then seemed important,
But looking back now I can see,
All the things I ever wanted,
Were in that gypsy caravan.

Ken Barr

Leave a Reply

