I started working on a book entitled, “Brace For Impact” some time ago. I have started and stopped so many times, I could just never get a feel for it. I had a writing partner, an editor, but nothing worked. I’m going it alone and I think I’m ready, finally. This book is meant to be a companion volume to my book, “We Are The Road Crew”. While that book celebrated my career in rock and roll, this book is more about the gritty underside of it. I am including here an excerpt from the book, the introduction. And also, I just bought the rights to a picture that will become the cover. Please let me know what you think, as this is a work in progress. As always, thanks, Ken

Brace For Impact:

Introduction

 While working on this book I have started and stopped more times than I can remember. Someone close to me told me to write about the dark underside of the life I’ve led. We all have a dark underside; it’s just that some are darker and dirtier than others. When I first envisioned this book it was to talk about all the undeserved ass kickings life had thrown at me. But the more I tried, the words didn’t come. The stories were lame, and had no soul.

It’s not that my life hasn’t had soul, or texture, or the most vivid colors on the planet, it’s just that the way I first envisioned this book was bullshit. Yeah we all get our ass kicked sometime, big deal, that ain’t a book I wanna buy. When I talked to my partner she called me on my bullshit. What I was churning out was crap, unworthy of the time I had wasted putting the words down. I had to dig deep, and find the real meat that was on the bone. But the problem with that was, where the dark, gritty meat that was and is my life was, was where I had wronged so many people in my selfish, Dionysian, self absorbed, bullshit, rock and roll life. That’s a scary beast to face down, the wrongs you have perpetrated on those around you. It’s the rest of the world that needs to brace for impact.

There are a lot of days in my life that I regret, that I wish I could take back, but not only can I not take them back, I am now revisiting them and they haunt me. I keep asking myself, is a fucking book worth walking back down those dark passages of yesterday?  But maybe this is about more than just another bullshit rock and roll book. Maybe this will be the catharsis that will purge the demons from my past. They haunt me at night, and at random moments where something will remind me of them and take me back to a point in time and I relive it, again and again. There are a lot of painful memories, and I have kept turning from them like you would a bright light first thing in the morning. Never taking ownership for all that I have done.

All my life I have never looked back at the damage I have done, the lives I have shattered. It’s easy when you keep moving forward and tell yourself it’s not your fault, but when you finally slow down for even a minute, you can’t hide from yourself no matter how hard you try. Reliving these moments in time and facing them has been one of the hardest things I have ever done. Every word hurts, every memory is excruciating, and magnified tenfold as I examine it for all the details, all the dark and gritty truths about myself and the world I created around me.

So here I am, about to go down the dark passages that have made up the sum content of my life so far. You may or may not like what you see here, and you will more than likely think less of me for all I have done, but here we go. I invite you to meet my demons, like I said, maybe this book will be cathartic, and maybe, just maybe, my demons will finally leave me alone. God I hope so.

The photo that will become the cover:

Comments
  1. I believe that the hardest things we have to do in life are the ones that ultimately will be our catharsis, our turning point. It is difficult to face your demons, but you are doing it, with a lot of courage mixed in with the pain. Don’t worry about what we will think of you, I think it’s important to write this book. Your audience will be able to learn from it, and better still, you will have undertaken a very big project that most people would turn from and never have the guts to do. I applaud you for this and when it gets too hard to handle, remember that it is just a slippery bridge you are struggling across that will bring you, free, to the other side. Godspeed, my friend, and know that I am wishing you the best.
    Note to other readers: there is a fan club for Ken, and its address is: friendsofourmanken@comcast.net. This is a man who deserves our moral support! Thank you,
    Debb

Leave a Reply

