” Salvation “

Posted: September 7, 2012 in Poetry and Prose
Tags: , , , , , , ,

Salvation

The nightmares of my yesterdays,

Still wake me up throughout the night,

Haunted by demons from my past,

Demons that I’ve known for so long,

I know them all by their first name.

 

The gates of heaven stand tall and,

Strong, a fortress to keep me out,

Archangels ready for battle,

Surround this fortress called heaven,

Against these odds I have no chance.

 

But there was someone once I thought,

Could help me atone for my wrongs,

When the time came she wasn’t there,

Alone I am an unwelcome,

Soul accused of too many sins.

 

I thought you’d be my salvation,

I know I’m beyond redemption,

Destined to spend all my days,

Wandering through purgatory.

 

Ken Barr

http://www.amazon.com/Ken-Barr/e/B003L0R7X4/ref=ntt_athr_dp_pel_1

 

 

Leave a Reply

